NWAC Congratulates the Newly Formed Government


November 5, 2015, Ottawa, ON – On November 4th, President Dawn Lavell Harvard had the honour and pleasure to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Canada’s 23rd Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, as well as the newly selected Cabinet Ministers at Rideau Hall.  Attendance at this celebratory event was the first step towards forging a renewed and mutually beneficial relationship with the Government of Canada’s officials to address issues specific to Indigenous women.

“I would like to congratulate all the Members of Prime Minister Trudeau’s Cabinet.  I am especially pleased to see the gender balance as well as the diversity of the Cabinet Members.  I wish to acknowledge the appointment of Jodie Wilson Raybould, a First Nations woman who was named as Minister of Justice and all other women who have been given Cabinet posts and in particular Dr. Carolyn Bennett who was appointed as the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs.  I look forward to working with all Members of the Cabinet to improve the living conditions of Indigenous women in Canada,” stated President Lavell Harvard.

NWAC would also like to acknowledge and thank all the young Indigenous artists who participated at this event with such grace and pride in performing by dancing, singing and drumming in a display of their specific cultures and traditions.

The Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) is founded on the collective goal to enhance, promote, and foster the social, economic, cultural and political well-being of First Nations and Métis women within First Nation, Métis and Canadian societies. As a national organization representing Aboriginal women since 1974, NWAC’s mandate is to achieve equality for all Aboriginal women in Canada.

– 30-

Claudette Dumont-Smith
Executive Director
1 Nicholas Street, 9th Floor
Ottawa, ON K1N 7B7
Toll free 1-800-461-4043
Tel.: 613-722-3033 x 223