NWAC Congratulates 7 Newly-Appointed Senators

(March 30, 2016) (Ottawa, ON) ― The Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) seeks to extend sincere congratulations to the seven newly-appointed Canadian Senators announced by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau on Friday, March 18, 2016.

Justice Murray Sinclair, Chantal Petitclerc, V. Peter Harder, Frances Lankin, Ratna Omidvar, Raymonde Gagné, and André Pratte are all impeccably accomplished individuals. NWAC is confident that these new appointments will contribute to a more robust, independent and representative legislative process in Canada.

NWAC seeks to extend special congratulations to our dear friend, Justice Murray Sinclair, who chaired the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC). From his work as a Judge in Manitoba, to his passion and dedication toward delivering the historic TRC report recommendations, Justice Sinclair has dedicated his entire life to reconciling Indigenous and Western relations. He is a truly suitable candidate for this prestigious high office.

On behalf of all staff, members, and provincial and territorial associations, congratulations! We look forward to working with you for the betterment of Indigenous women and girls.


“Each of these individuals is a shining embodiment of accomplishment. I am confident in their collective ability to uphold the independence, diplomacy and non-partisan leadership that this high office demands. Congratulations!”
―Claudette Dumont-Smith, Executive Director of the Native Women’s Association of Canada

The Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) is founded on the collective goal to enhance, promote, and foster the social, economic, cultural and political well-being of First Nations and Métis women within First Nation, Métis and Canadian societies. As a national organization representing Aboriginal women since 1974, NWAC’s mandate is to achieve equality for all Aboriginal women in Canada.





Jenn Jefferys
Native Women’s Association of Canada
+1 613-485-1988 |  jjefferys@nwac.ca