(OTTAWA, October 16) —The Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 Michael Melancon-Koffend Student Award. This bursary assists Indigenous women and gender-diverse people across Canada who are enrolled in post-secondary studies and are dedicated to the betterment of Indigenous communities. This award was made possible by Marie Melancon-Ifram through her incredible donation to honour the memory of her late son Michael.

This year, the Michael Melancon-Koffend Student Award Selection Committee received and reviewed over 140 applications. NWAC is pleased to announce 11 awards to the following outstanding individuals:

Erica Abel, North West Territories; Everlyne Fowler, British Columbia; Tasia Nateweyes, Alberta; Santana Dreaver, Saskatchewan; Lindsay Bristow, Manitoba; Celine Wick, Ontario; Hope Metallic, Quebec; Samantha Gardiner, Newfoundland and Labrador; Shyla Augustine, New Brunswick; Jerri Bluecloud, Nova Scotia; Ashley Jadis, Prince Edward Island

NWAC is honoured to be able to provide opportunities to inspiring youth such as these, and looks forward to the great contributions they will make for their communities and all Indigenous peoples.


For information or an interview contact Gloria Galloway at gloria@gloriagalloway.com or 613-447-6648