The Board of Directors hold responsibility for the overall governance of NWAC and passes all resolutions with regard to new initiatives undertaken by NWAC personnel and its members. The Board meets on a regular basis to evaluate, review, and provide direction to the President, PTMAs, and the National office.

NWAC’s Board of Directors consists of 20 members:

  • One (1) president

  • Thirteen (13) regional representatives

  • Four (4) of which are also regional executive leaders

  • Four (4) regional elders

  • Four (4) regional youth representatives; elected by the NWAC Youth Council

Executive and Regional Members

Sweet Grass Graphic

Gail Paul

Interim President & Indigenous Women’s Association of the Maliseet & Mi’kmaq Territory (IWAMMT)

Lorraine Whitman

Nova Scotia Native Women’s Association

Dorothy George

Newfoundland Native Women’s Association

Anna Thomas

BC Native Women’s Association

Jane Weyallon

The Native Women’s Association of the NWT

Marlene Thomas

Aboriginal Women’s Association of PEI

Viviane Michel

Femmes Autochthones du Quebec (FAQ) 
Quebec Native Women’s Association Inc.

Terri Szabo

Yukon Aboriginal Women’s Council

Thelma Morrisseau

Manitoba Moon Voices Inc.

Judy Hughes

Saskatchewan Aboriginal Women’s Circle Corporation

Sylvia Johnson

Alberta Aboriginal Women’s Society

Jennifer Landry 

The Temiskaming Native Women’s Support Group 

Madeleine Redfern

Nunavut Inuit Women’s Association

Regional Elder Representatives

Sweet Grass Graphic

Alma Brooks

East Elder 
Indigenous Women’s Association of the Maliseet and Mi’kmaq Territory

Laverne Contois

South Elder (National Elder Representative) 
Manitoba Moon Voices Inc.

Noreen McAtter

West Elder 
Alberta Aboriginal Women’s Association

Therese Villeneuve 

North Elder 
The Native Women’s Association of the NWT

Regional Youth Representatives

Sweet Grass Graphic

Coming Soon

East Youth 

Brittany Grisdale

South Youth

Coming Soon

West Youth 

Jessica Olson

North Youth