Board of Directors

The Board of Directors hold responsibility for the overall governance of NWAC and passes all resolutions with regard to new initiatives undertaken by NWAC personnel and its members. The Board meets on a regular basis to evaluate, review, and provide direction to the President, PTMAs, and the National office.

NWAC’s Board of Directors consists of 20 members:

  • One (1) president
  • Thirteen (13) regional representatives
  • Four (4) of which are also regional executive leaders
  • Four (4) regional elders
  • Four (4) regional youth representatives; elected by the NWAC Youth Council

Current Board of Directors

Executive and Regional Members

Francyne D. Joe

A member of BC’s Shackan First Nation and former President of the BC Native Women’s Association, Francyne has committed herself to empowering Indigenous women and girls through her work and philanthropic efforts. Primarily working in human resource management, she’s successfully accessed funding for community economic development, advocated alongside families for a National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, and fostered partnerships with BC Aboriginal agencies to empower Indigenous communities to take their rightful leadership role locally, regionally, nationally, and internationally. She is honored to work with and represent the interests of First Nations and Métis women across the nation as NWAC’s President.

Lorraine Whitman
Nova Scotia Native Women’s Association

Dorothy George
Newfoundland Native Women’s Association

Anna Thomas
BC Native Women’s Association

Liza Pieper
The Native Women’s Association of the NWT

Alma McDougall
Aboriginal Women’s Association of PEI

Viviane Michel
Femmes Autochthones du Quebec (FAQ)
Quebec Native Women’s Association Inc.

Terri Szabo
Yukon Aboriginal Women’s Council

Thelma Morrisseau
Manitoba Moon Voices Inc.

Gail Paul
Indigenous Women’s Association of the Maliseet & Mi’kmaq Territory (IWAMMT)

Judy Hughes
Saskatchewan Aboriginal Women’s Circle Corporation

Maxine Elter
Alberta Aboriginal Women’s Society

Jennifer Landry
The Temiskaming Native Women’s Support Group

Regional Elder Representatives

Alma Brooks
East Elder
Indigenous Women’s Association of the Maliseet and Mi’kmaq Territory

Laverne Contois
South Elder (National Elder Representative)
Manitoba Moon Voices Inc.

Noreen McAtter
West Elder
Alberta Aboriginal Women’s Association

Therese Villeneuve
North Elder
The Native Women’s Association of the NWT

Regional Youth Representatives

Christie Saulis
East Youth 
Indigenous Women’s Association of the Maliseet and Mi’kmaq Territory

Coming Soon
South Youth

Robyn Black
West Youth (National Youth Representative)
Saskatchewan Aboriginal Women’s Circle Corporation

Felicia Bailey-Cashin
North Youth
Yukon Aboriginal Women’s Council